AWS Certified Welding: Why It Makes A Difference

There are many companies that provide welding services, and when selecting a welding company one of the standards of quality is to select a firm that offers AWS-certified welding. At Wilkins Manufacturing, all of our expert welders are AWS-certified, but you might be wondering what this means to you as a customer.


AWS simply stands for American Welding Society. This nonprofit organization, which was founded nearly a century ago, provides several different welding certification programs. A welder becomes AWS-certified, once he or she has demonstrated expertise in a specific skill by passing a qualification test.


There are several different types of certifications that the AWS offers to its members, and the welders at Wilkins Manufacturing have been AWS-certified in several different categories. These categories are represented by special codes. For instance, our welders have earned D1.1 certification, which pertains to the structural welding of steel. Our welders also are D1.6 certified which pertains to structural welding of stainless steel. We also have D17.1 certified welders, which includes aerospace fusion welding. These are just a few of the certifications our welders have earned.


There are dozens of different AWS certified welding codes, and as a customer, it can be helpful to ensure that the welders you selected are certified in the type of welding that you need. For instance, if you needed stainless steel pipe welding, you would want to select welders with a D10.18 certification. If you needed bridge welding, then you would select someone with D1.5 welding certification.


If you aren’t certain of which type of certification pertains to the type of welding you need, it can be wise to select a company with welding expertise in the specific materials or type of welding you need. At Wilkins Manufacturing, our team of AWS-certified welders works primarily with materials such as aluminum, steel, stainless steel, magnesium and titanium. We can provide you with many different types of welding, including MIG welding, spot welding, TIG welding, torch blaze and solder.


In addition to providing customers with AWS-certified welding, we also feature an ISO 9001:2008 and AS9100C-certified quality system. ISO is the International Organization for Standardization. This nonprofit group sets standards for quality management systems. In order to earn ISO certification, a company must have designed a quality management system that adheres to the ISO’s exacting standards.


The ISO 9001:2008 requirements are used to provide a basis for quality management systems for a variety of types of companies and organizations, and not just welding, so you will see that many different firms will have ISO 9001:2008 certification. Our additional AS9100C certification indicates that we have special certification as a company that works with the aviation, space and defense industries.


Of course, we work with many other industries so no matter what type of welding, machining, turning or mechanical assembly you might need, our team is always equal to the task. If you need any of these services, give us a call today and we can get started on your unique project.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *